Bauxite Deposits of Turkey

Hanilçi N.

in: Mineral Resources of Turkey, Pirajno F,Ünlü T,Dönmez C,Şahin MB, Editor, Springer, London/Berlin , Zürich, pp.681-730, 2019

  • Publication Type: Book Chapter / Chapter Vocational Book
  • Publication Date: 2019
  • Publisher: Springer, London/Berlin 
  • City: Zürich
  • Page Numbers: pp.681-730
  • Editors: Pirajno F,Ünlü T,Dönmez C,Şahin MB, Editor


The bauxite deposits of Turkey are mainly concentrated in eight provinces, six of which are located in the Anatolide–Tauride, one in the Arabian Platform and one in the Pontides. The eight regions are as follows: The diasporitic bauxite deposits of the (i) Milas–Yatağan (Muğla) region are beneath the base of the Jurassic successions and are located in a high-grade metamorphosed geological setting; (ii) The Yalvaç–Şarkikaraağaç province mainly includes boehmite occurring beneath the base of the Upper Jurassic–Cretaceous units; (iii) The non-metamorphosed Seydişehir–Akseki bauxites mainly consist of boehmite, occurring below the Santonian units; (iv) The Alanya Province bauxites mainly consist of diasporite and rare boehmite in three levels along the unconformable contact between Permian and Lower Triassic, Lower Triassic and Middle(?)–Upper Triassic, and Upper Triassic and Jurassic, respectively; (v) The Bolkardağı (Karaman) bauxites are metamorphosed and mainly consist of diasporite and rare boehmite occurring beneath the base of the Middle Jurassic units; (vi) The Tufanbeyli–Saimbeyli–Kadirli bauxites mainly include diasporite and boehmite lying below the pre-Early Permian and between the Upper Triassic to Early Jurassic units; (vii) The iron-rich bauxites in the Payas–Isahiye Province include hematite, maghemite, berthierine and diasporite between Turonian and Cenonian units; and finally, (viii) The Kokaksu (Zonguldak) province bauxites include diasporite, boehmite between the Lower Carboniferous and Lower Cretaceous units.